Drummer Boy

He beats my chest
Much like drummers do
The passion never fading
Just smooth rhythms
That bellow through my soul

See I waited for you not to save me cuz shit I’m an independent lady
I waited on your lips though
Waited for them to grace mine like Jesus waited for satan to change sides

See I needed you to hover near me
Keeping me safe and warm
Safe and strong
But you are still in my mind
I seem to recall the days
When I dreamt of your eyes
Your smile
I had only dreamed of a love filled man
My tiny mind had no idea of sexual pleasures and favours
Or heartbreak
I remember getting on my skinny knees
Choosing my words carefully
As I prayed for a man as strong and as exceptional as my grandfather
I remember asking for what my grandparents had
Beautiful love

Still you beat the drums and I dance to the rhythm
Like my feet had waited patiently
Stayed in a corner at the club
And just held out
Only waited for you
Like a long walk in the Sarah’s desert
No water only hope and faith
A knowing that I would be found
Would be loved
Would dance to the thumps of his drums

Religiously I seem to find things in you that keep me upright
Keep me grounded
Feet planted so deep in the earth
That I am never moving
And like that big strong old tree that shaded me in the desert
You’ve appeared as not a mirage
But as a reality of what patience and prayer can do
My heart beats and it’s melody is orchestrated by you
My drummer boy

20130806-071537.jpg

*Disclaimer*

1 thought on “Drummer Boy

Leave a comment